West Piedmont Planning District Commission


  • Executive Session: 7:00 p.m.
  • Board: 7:30 p.m.
  • Fourth Thursday of every month
  • 1 Starling Avenue
    Martinsville, VA 24112


  • J. Lee Vogler, Jr.
  • Dr. Gary P. Miller
  • Kimberly Walker, Citizen Member

Governmental subdivisions shall appoint three members from each jurisdiction, two members of the governing body and one non-elected resident qualified voter. Vacancies shall be filled for the unexpired term and any member shall be eligible for reappointment. The terms of members of governing bodies shall be coincident with their elected term of office. The term of office of the citizen member shall be three years.


The West Piedmont Planning District Commission has been authorized by the Virginia Area Development Act (Title 15.1, Chapter 34, Section 15.1-1400, Code of Virginia, 1950, as amended). The purpose shall be to promote the orderly and efficient development of the physical, social, and economic elements of the Planning District by planning, encouraging, and assisting governmental subdivisions to plan for the future.

For further information, contact Executive Director David Hoback at 276-638-3987. To apply to serve on this Board, please fill out our online application.