News Flash Home
The original item was published from 3/10/2021 8:34:00 AM to 6/10/2021 12:00:06 AM.

News Flash

Danville, VA Police Department Media Releases

Posted on: March 9, 2021

[ARCHIVED] 03-10-2021 The Danville Police Department held is annual awards ceremony


Chief Scott C. Booth recognized several women and men of the Danville Police Department and for their exceptional service in 2020. Chief Booth also honored individuals from partner agencies for their significant contribution to the Department’s crime reduction or community engagement efforts. 

In his closing remarks, Chief Booth said, “2020 was a remarkable year. I talk to many people in my travels and I tell them, do not underestimate the Danville Police Department. Then I back that up with our crime data showing 35 year lows. I show them what we have done in our community through our community engagement programs. It makes me proud, and it is not just about our officers, but also our partners.” 

Officers received awards for distinguished service in special projects, saving the life of another, and other outstanding achievements. Here is a list of the awards and the recipients:

  • Unit Commendation - Property Crimes – Lt. Michael Wallace, Off. Peter Bailey, Lt. John Pulley, Det. Randy Merrill, Cpl. Benjamin Langley, Det. Roger Woody
  • Unit Commendation - Vice Narcotics –  Lt. David Whitley, Cpl. William Shively, Sgt. Jonathan Epps, Det. Tyrone Russell, Cpl. Derrick Lancaster  
  • Meritorious Service Medal – Cpl. Samanthia Wiles-Lipscomb
  • Officer of the Year – Off. Jesse Booth           
  • Specialty Officer of the Year – Cpl. William Shively
  • Supervisor of the Year – Lt. Johnny West
  • Life Saving Medal – Off. Jesse Booth, Off. Walker Eason, Off. Gerritt Clay, Off. Jordan Land
  • Partnership Award – Norma Brower (Danville Community Development Department), Melanie Tosh (Danville-Pittsylvania County Community Services), Amanda Oakes (Regional Alliance for Substance Abuse Prevention), Special Agent Matt Wade (Virginia State Police), Rachel Swartz (U.S. Attorney’s Office Western District of Virginia) 
  • Distinguished Service Medal – Capt. Henry Richardson, Capt. Ernest Thompson
  • Chief’s Award – Ashtyn Foddrell, Donald Smith, Lt. David Whitley 

The actions and achievements of those listed above are representative of the good work that our officers do on a daily basis as they serve the citizens of our city. 

The ceremony was held following social distancing protocols. Special “Thank You” to River Oak Church for the use of their facility to host this event. 

Ceremony pictures can be found here.

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Danville, VA Police Department Media Releases

News Alert

Fraud, Scam Warning

Posted on: September 21, 2023
One Community LOGO FINAL

Community Engagement Walk September 20

Posted on: September 20, 2023
Fall 2023 IDDU Graduation

I.D.D.U. Graduation Held

Posted on: September 19, 2023
News Alert

Non-Credible Threat at GWHS

Posted on: September 18, 2023
090123 GREAT Program

GREAT Program Graduation

Posted on: September 1, 2023
Danville Police Department Patch and Badge

Danville to Remember September 11

Posted on: August 29, 2023
081623 Robbery Suspect

Bank Robbery Suspect Arrested

Posted on: August 16, 2023
080323 Volunteers Pledge

Volunteer Pledge Ceremony Held

Posted on: August 3, 2023
August 2023 Academy Graduates

Officers Graduate from Academy

Posted on: August 1, 2023
Retiree Ceremony

Retirees Honored

Posted on: July 27, 2023
Danville Police Department Patch and Badge

Recruit Swearing-in Ceremony

Posted on: July 26, 2023
One Community With City_Heavy Ink Cityscape

One Community - Upcoming Events

Posted on: July 25, 2023
One Community With City_Heavy Ink Cityscape

Introducing: One Community

Posted on: July 17, 2023
Holm, Ebonie

Arrest Made Following Homicide

Posted on: July 15, 2023
Unveiling Teaser

Unveiling Set for Monday, July 17

Posted on: July 14, 2023
IDDU Summer 2023 Graduation Class

I.D.D.U. Graduation Held

Posted on: July 11, 2023
Patch and Badge JPEG

I.D.D.U. Graduation

Posted on: July 6, 2023
News Alert

Police Investigating Homicide

Posted on: June 29, 2023